cupure logo
frenchopenfrench openfinalgauffcocococo gauffsabalenkaarynaaryna sabalenka

Alcaraz turns himself in over broken rule during French Open win over Shelton

Spaniard gives up point after admitting to infractionAmerican men make quarter-finals for first time since 2003Carlos Alcaraz called himself out for breaking the rules at the French Open and conceded a point during his fourth-round victory over Ben Shelton on Sunday. Early in the second set, Shelton whipped a passing shot well out of Alcaraz’s reach. The Spaniard flung his racket and, as it flipped through the air, the strings somehow not only made contact with the ball but sent it back over the net.Initially, the defending champion was awarded the point. But he told the chair umpire that he had broken the rules because he wasn’t holding his racket when it touched the ball. The point went to Shelton, and the Court Philippe-Chatrier crowd gave Alcaraz a round of applause. Continue reading...

Comments

Similar News

Tenis news